
COMPENSATION BENEFIT REFERENCE GUIDE 
QUALIFICATIONS FOR COMPENSATION
A direct victim is someone who is physically injured, threatened with injury or dies as a direct result of 
a qualifying crime (Gov. Code, § 13951(g)). Other persons impacted by the crime may be eligible for 
compensation (Gov. Code, § 13951(c)). 
 
The crime must have occurred in California or to a California resident who becomes a victim while in  
another state or country. For crimes occurring out of state, the victim must apply to that state or  
country first (Gov. Code, § 13955(b)).

APPLICATION MAXIMUM 
As of January 1, 2017, the maximum reimbursement per application is $70,000. Prior to this, the maximum 
reimbursement per application was $63,000. Depending on when the crime occurred, benefit limits may vary.

THE DIRECT VICTIM AND/OR APPLICANT MUST:
•	 Cooperate reasonably with law enforcement in the arrest and prosecution  
	 of the offender (Gov. Code, § 13956(b)).
•	 Cooperate with CalVCB staff and its representatives to verify the application (Gov. Code, § 13954 (b)).
•	 Seek reimbursement from other sources (i.e., health insurance or Medi-Cal) prior to a CalVCB payment 
	 (Gov. Code, § 13951(e)).
•	 Not be on parole, probation or post-release community supervision for a violent felony, incarcerated or required by 		
	 law to register as a sex offender during the time the expenses were incurred. 
•	 File the application within three years of the crime. Minor victims must file by their 24th birthday; if the crime was a 		
	 sexual offense the application must be filed by the victim’s 28th birthday. Good cause may allow for additional filing 		
	 time (Gov. Code, § 13953). 

AVAILABLE BENEFIT REQUIREMENTS WHO MAY RECEIVE 
THE BENEFIT BENEFIT LIMITS LEGAL AUTHORITY

MEDICAL/MEDICALLY RELATED
Includes, but is not limited to:
Doctor services, hospital, surgery, prescriptions 

Eyeglasses, hearing aids, dentures or prosthetic devices 

Ambulance, dental, chiropractic, etc.

Verification from the crime report or medical records that medical services 
were required and/or medical/medically related devices were taken, lost, 
damaged or destroyed during the commission of a crime, or the use of 
which became necessary as a direct result of the crime. 
For billing forms and required documents, please see:
victims.ca.gov/publications/calvcpforms.aspx

Direct victim(s) 

Anyone who pays or 
assumes legal liability 
for a deceased victim’s 
expenses

Application maximum Gov. Code, §§ 13957 (a)(1) 
& 13957 (a)(8)(A)

INCOME LOSS          Evidence of income loss and a statement of disability from a medical 
or mental health service provider or evidence of income loss when a 
victim has to take unpaid time off work for medical and/or mental health 
appointments.

Direct victim(s) Application maximum Gov. Code, § 13957.5(a)

Cal. Code Reg., title 2,  § 649.32 

Verification from the minor victim’s physician that certifies the need for the 
parent or legal guardian’s presence at the hospital for treatment in addition 
to evidence of income loss. 
For additional information, please see:
victims.ca.gov/victims/faq/expenses.aspx

Parent or legal guardian 
of a minor victim who is 
in the hospital or dies

Parents or legal guard-
ians of a minor victim 
may be eligible for up 
to 30 days of income 
loss

SUPPORT LOSS Must have been legally dependent on the victim(s) at the time of the 
qualifying crime and be able to provide evidence of support loss.

Eligible family member 
or other person legally 
dependent on the victim

Application maximum Gov. Code, §§ 13957.5(a)(4), 
13957.5(b)

Cal. Code Reg., title 2, §§§  
649.3(b), 649.32, and 649.33 

FUNERAL AND/OR BURIAL When a victim dies as a direct result of the qualifying crime, the funeral and 
burial expenses may be reimbursed. 
For additional information, please see:
victims.ca.gov/providers/funeral.aspx

Anyone who pays or 
assumes legal liability 
for a deceased victim’s 
expenses

$7,500 Gov. Code, § 13957(a)(8)(B)

Cal. Code Reg., title 2, § 
649.18(a)

RELOCATION Verification by law enforcement that relocation is necessary for a victim’s 
personal safety, or verification by a medical or mental health provider that 
relocation is necessary for a victim’s emotional well-being. 
For required documents, please see:   
victims.ca.gov/docs/forms/victims/relocation/relocationpacketin-
structions.pdf

Direct victim(s) $2,000
Applicants may receive 
reimbursement greater 
than $2,000 due to  
unusual, dire or excep-
tional circumstances

Gov. Code, § 13957(a)(7)(A)

Gov. Code, § 13957(a)(7)(E)

CRIME SCENE CLEAN UP The crime occurred in a residence or vehicle and cleanup of the crime 
scene was performed by a trauma scene waste management practitioner 
registered with the State Department of Public Health per Health and 
Safety Code § 118321.

Anyone who pays or 
assumes legal liability for 
the crime scene clean up 
expenses

$1,000 Gov. Code, § 13957(a)(9)
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AVAILABLE BENEFIT REQUIREMENTS WHO MAY RECEIVE 
THE BENEFIT BENEFIT LIMITS LEGAL AUTHORITY

HOME SECURITY Verification from the crime report or other supporting documentation 
that the victim’s home safety is at risk, the offender is aware of where 
the victim resides or due to the crime there is a need for increased 
security. 

Verification by a mental health provider that security is necessary for 
the victim’s emotional well-being.

Direct victim(s) $1,000 Gov. Code, § 13957(a)(5)

Cal. Code Reg., title 2, § 649.19

HOME MODIFICATION Verification from a physician that the modification expense is  
medically necessary.

Partially or totally perma-
nently disabled victims

Application maximum Gov. Code, § 13957(a)(6)

VEHICLE MODIFICATION 
OR PURCHASE

Verification from a physician that the modification or purchase  
expense is medically necessary.

Partially or totally perma-
nently disabled victims

$30,000 Gov. Code, § 13957(a)(6)

Cal. Code Reg., title 2, § 649.20(b)

SERVICE DOG Disabled victim or applicant whose guide, signal or service dog was 
injured or killed due to a qualifying crime on or after January 1, 2015.

Owner of the service dog $10,000 Gov. Code,§ 13955(f)(4)

JOB RETRAINING OR SIMILAR  
EMPLOYMENT SERVICES

The victim must first apply for assistance from the California 
Department of Rehabilitation and obtain an evaluation or assessment. 

Direct victim(s) Application maximum Gov. Code, § 13957(a)(4)

MENTAL HEALTH TREATMENT

INITIAL SESSION LIMITS1 WHO MAY RECEIVE THE BENEFIT BENEFIT LIMITS LEGAL AUTHORITY

40 SESSION HOURS Direct victim (minor and adult). $10,000 Gov. Code, § 13957(a)(2)

A surviving parent, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, child, spouse, registered domestic partner or fiancé (fiancée)2 of a victim who 
becomes deceased due to the crime.

$10,0002,3

30 SESSION HOURS Minor witness to a violent crime (eff. 1/1/09). $5,0002

Good Samaritan Gov. Code 13970. $5,000

Derivative victim* who was a minor at the time of the crime. $10,000

Derivative victim* who was the primary caretaker of a direct minor victim at the time of the crime. $10,0003

15 SESSION HOURS Derivative victim* who does not meet any of the benefit limits listed above. $5,000

Caretakers who became the primary caregiver of a minor direct victim after the qualifying crime and did not have a previous filing 
status relationship to the direct victim.

$5,000

5 SESSION HOURS
CASE MANAGEMENT

Direct victim (minor and adult). $375

victims.ca.gov  |  1-800-777-9229  |  info@victims.ca.gov  |  PO BOX 48, Sacramento, CA 95812-0048  
*Deaf and hard of hearing: please call the California Relay Service at 711

* Derivative victims who, at the time of the crime are:
•	 A parent, sibling, spouse, registered domestic partner, grandparent, grandchild or child of the victim
•	 A fiancé or fiancée of the victim who witnessed the crime
•	 A person who is currently living with, or has previously lived with the victim
•	 A family member who witnessed the crime

1)  If additional treatment is needed beyond the initial session limits of 40, 	
30 or 15, an Additional Treatment Plan (ATP) can be filed by the therapist 
2)  Must have witnessed the crime to be eligible for benefits
3)  Effective for applications received on or after 12/1/14
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